Inaugural meeting of the Vienna Group

28 September 2021

The ‘Group of Vienna’ is an IAEA (International Atomic Energy Agency) initiative to discuss and promote nuclear technology’s roles in addressing social challenges. It includes IAEA executives and the management of 13 leading companies in the nuclear energy industry. The group was established at the suggestion of IAEA director general Rafael Mariano Grossi and held its inaugural meeting in Vienna on 22 September. Members include IAEA, China National Nuclear Corporation, EdF, NuScale Power, Rolls Royce SMR, ROSATOM, SNC-Lavalin, Westinghouse Electric Company, and Mitsubishi Heavy industries.

The aim of the Group is to establish how best to address current global challenges through the effective and sustainable use of nuclear technologies and by fostering innovation in the nuclear sector, and broadly to help the public recognise the role nuclear power can play in the global transition to clean energies and also promote peaceful uses of nuclear technologies, including application of radiation technology in medical treatments and food production. The Group will discuss these and other related issues at meetings held annually, and will meet regularly to discuss the latest developments in the nuclear field and their contribution to addressing key challenges, including climate change and human health.

Linkedin Linkedin   
Privacy Policy
We have updated our privacy policy. In the latest update it explains what cookies are and how we use them on our site. To learn more about cookies and their benefits, please view our privacy policy. Please be aware that parts of this site will not function correctly if you disable cookies. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.