The European Commission is to launch legal action against five EU member states after they failed to implement energy liberalisation in their domestic legislation.

Estonia, Greece, Ireland, Luxembourg and Spain will be dragged to the European Court of Justice in the third stage of infringement proceedings. Almost 20 member states were sent formal warnings in October 2004.